06.08.14 18:09

Canada Expanded Sanctions Against Russia

The Government of Canada announced the extension of the sanctions list against Russia on Wednesday, adding to it, in particular, VTB, Russian Agricultural Bank, Bank of Moscow and the Russian National Commercial Bank (RNCB).

The communiqué of the Canadian government also states that sanctions are imposed on the United Shipbuilding Corporation and low-cost airline Dobrolet, Censor.NET informs citing Interfax-Ukraine.

In addition, sanctions are imposed on a number of Crimean companies, in particular, wine producers Novyi Svet and Massandra and companies owning commercial port facilities in Kerch and Sevastopol.

Read also: US State Department: We Are Seeing a Dire Impact on the Russian Economy. President Putin Has a Choice to Make

The sanctions are applied to the armed groups of the militias operating in the east of Ukraine and against the "Federal State of Novorossia".

The new list includes 22 companies and structures In total.

Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper said his country was coordinating its position with the United States and the EU in the sanctions list preparation. Sanctions of Ottawa largely copy the restrictive measures against the United Shipbuilding Corporation, VTB Bank and Agricultural Bank of Moscow announced by the United States on July 29. American sanctions, in particular, suggest a ban on American individuals and legal entities to carry out operations with new debt instruments of these banks. Sanctions against the USC assume freezing of any its assets under the jurisdiction of the United States. In addition, there is a ban for American individuals and legal entities to carry out transactions with the USC and the prohibition to engage in any transactions with its participation in the United States.

Read also: Switzerland Adds Names and Organizations to Sanctions List to Prevent Bypassing European Sanctions against Russia

← Back to the section