More Countries To Impose Sanctions on Russia

85483 323

EU candidate countries, including Montenegro, Iceland, Albania, as well as Liechtenstein and Norway, and Ukraine have aligned themselves with the third round of EU sanctions against Russia.

This was announced Wednesday in the EU Council press release, Censor.NET reports citing RIA Novosti.

"The Candidate Countries Montenegro, Iceland and Albania, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this decision," the press release said in regards to the countries that have aligned themselves with the entire third set of sanctions against Russia.

The third set includes sanctions against whole sectors of the Russian economy and measures, targeting certain individuals.

The sanctions affected, among other, oil ("Rosneft", "Transneft", and "Gazpromneft") and defense sectors ("Uralvagonzavod", "Oboronprom", and "United Aircraft Corporation"). The black list also includes five Russian banks - "Sberbank", VTB, "Gazprombank", "Vnesheconombank", and "Rosselhozbank." EU residents would be banned from offering loans to them and from operations with new issues of obligations and other securities with maturity period over 30 days.

Read Also: Visegrad Four Supports Sanctions Against Russia - Polish Foreign Ministry

Beside sectorial restrictive measures, the third round of sanctions included asset freezes and travel bans of another 24 individuals, who joined the list of those impacted by two previous rounds of sanctions. The criteria to allow for the listing of legal persons, entities and bodies conducting transactions with "the separatist groups" in Donbas were also amended.