26.01.16 23:28

PACE allows Ukraine to impose sanctions against MPs who travel to Crimea

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe has passed a resolution that recognizes legitimate imposing of sanctions against those MPs who visit the occupied territories, including Crimea.

As reported by Yevropeiska Pravda, 68 MPs supported the resolution, with eight votes against it.

The assembly expressed its "regret" about the existence of "black lists" of MPs, but stated it considered acceptable a travel ban against those lawmakers who had previously "violated the law of the state in terms of entry into its territory."

Read more: PACE might recognize Russia aggressor state in Donbas, - Russian oppositioner Kara-Murza

It is worth noting that the original draft resolution offered a fundamentally different wording - it categorically condemned and acknowledged illegal the practice of "black lists" and bans on entry.

However, this norm was adjusted upon the proposal of Georgian deputy Chori Taktakishvili, supported by a number of other MPs.

Taktakishvili's amendment, which among others has completely changed the tone of the resolution, was supported by a slender margin - 49 against 35 votes.

Read more: Russia not allowed to PACE sessions until new parliament elected, - Assembly President Brasseur
← Back to the section